Research: 1960s Hair & make Up

Show Makeup:

Image result for 1960s makeup and hair

The photo above shows the makeup look that I wanted to replicate and do on myself for the show. I think this is one of the best examples of a more natural makeup look in the 60s. I didn’t want to go for something to complicated because I dont have the most developed skills when it comes to makeup. However as well as making the look period appropriate I also had to consider that it needed to have elements of stage makeup included. Often natural makeup can look washed out and pale under the harsh lighting. It is important to add just a little bit extra of each product so your face is still visible on stage. After researching the different looks this is the look I created.

img_2195

Steps:

  1.  Firstly I used a brow pencil to create a natural but groomed shape to my brows. I then went in with a tinted brow gel at the front of my eyebrows to make them look sparse and natural. This also helps keep the brow hairs in place.
  2. Next I went in with a matte foundation a few shades darker than my natural skin tone ( to decrease the chances of looking washed out). A matte complexion was essential in the 60s to achieve the flawless skin look. I also added a small amount of concealer under the eyes to brighten my eyes and make them appear bigger.
  3. The next step I took was setting my base. I used a matte powder to set my base in place to ensure none of it would come off if I was sweating under the hot lights o n stage. Powder again helps to achieve the flawless matte look of the 60s.
  4.  I then added a generous amount of  pink blush and a cool toned bronzer to give my face some life. Blush was heavily applied in the 60s however bronzer wasn’t. I have deiced to add it to the look because im also trying to create stage makeup.
  5. I then moved on to the eyes. I added brown eye shadow into my crease to add depth to my eyes. I also think this colour makes the blue in my eyes stand out more. I then added a thick line of black eyeliner onto my top lash line to draw attention to the eyes. To make the eyes appear bigger women would apply a thick layer of white eyeliner to the bottom waterline which is exactly what I did.
  6. To complete the eyes I added some big wispy strip lashes to give it the finishing touch. Women where into big fluttery clumpy lashes so I added mascara to the bottom lashes.
  7. For lips I chose to go for a subtle pink colour. This should be preferably matte. This can be pastel pink nude or a pink-  nude colour.

Show Hair:

This is the hairstyle I wore for the show. In the 60s it was all about the big backcombed bouffant style. I decided to go with a backcombed quiff in a ponytail because it was more practical than having it down. If I had it down it might of blocked the audience from seeing my face. Also it would of got in my face whilst dancing. Leah helped me to achieve this look before every show as I am better at makeup than hair. I really liked my hair I think it suited me. All we used was hairspray, backcombing powder, a teasing brush, bobbles and clips.

Leave a comment